Onmywaytobeauty's Blog

Not the mama… | January 10, 2010

So, I was driving my minivan with my two girls in the back seat, on the way back from picking up groceries.  Now, Emma is almost 4, and Victoria just turned 2, and she can’t quite grasp the difference between saying “mama” and “Emma”, so they both come out “Mama”.  Now, she’s in her car seat yelling “Mama!  MAMA!!” So, I say “What?” and Emma replies, “Not you!”  And I laughed at her, thinking, “am I not the mama??”.  Then Emma says, “I’M mama!”  So, if she’s mama, than who am I?  I asked her this, and she states, “I’m Mama, YOU are Emma!”

About 2 minutes later, the part that just warmed my heart, Emma turns to her baby sister and says in her sweet voice, “I love you, Victoria (E-poya).  I love you so much.” 

I really hope that, that never changes.  That I can raise my kids to love each other, and support each other and depend on each other.   I really want to instill good values in my children, and all I can do is hope and pray that when the time comes for them to make their own decisions and go their own ways, that they’ll remember what they were taught and how they were raised, and not stray from those values.

2 Comments »

  1. You and me both. It’s rare she says that.

    Comment by Daniel — January 12, 2010 @ 6:48 pm

  2. Sounds like you are on the right track, praying for them, living a life that has values, and teaching them that family is every important – you won’t have to worry!

    Comment by steveliscum — January 25, 2010 @ 3:55 pm


Leave a Reply

