Onmywaytobeauty's Blog

Jasper | January 13, 2010

Yesterday, we aquired a daschund puppy from a friend from our church on a trial run to see how our boxer, Copper, does with a smaller dog.  When we brought him home, we took him out to the back yard where Copper was.  My husband let him off the chain, and put the little pup down on the ground.  So far, Copper is far to excited to be able to handle not hurting Jasper, which is what I decided to name the pup.  He’s a reddish brown on most of his body, and that color is mixed with black on his back.  He’s got these super long ears that I think he’s going to step on when he gets older!  He’s so adorable.  Anyway, Copper wanted to paw at him and carry him around in his mouth, and we just can’t be having that!  So, poor Jasper was hiding under my husband’s legs as he crouched down to try to control Copper.  So, we took Jasper in the house, and let him play with our girls.  Victoria seems totally unimpressed with him, choosing to ignore him more than anything else.  Emma is totally enamored with him!  She calls him “my puppy”.  When we brought him in the house from his first visit with Copper, Jasper sat on the couch next to Emma, and then curled up behind her.  She ate her dinner, he was right there beside her.  We tried to feed him for the first time in his new home, and he wouldn’t touch the food until Emma took some in her hand and fed it to him.  Last night, when it was time for her to go to bed, she wanted Jasper to sleep with her.  We agreed, thinking, if she didn’t go to sleep, we’d just take the puppy out.  So, we brought him upstairs and laid him in her bed.  He cried and cried when my husband stood up from sitting on the bed, and stopped as soon as he sat back down.  Danny went to leave the room, and Emma started crying when Jasper did.  I asked her if she wanted Jasper to stay with her, and she nodded, so I asked her why she was crying, and she said, “he wants daddy!”  and cried all the harder.  It was so heart wrenching.  So, Daddy stayed with Emma until Jasper when to sleep, and she was just beaming with pride that she had the puppy sleeping in her bed.  When we went to bed, we took Jasper into our room, and I’m glad we did.  At 3:30 this morning, I’m forced awake by something sharp stabbing me in the arm–puppy teeth!  Jasper is chewing on the under-side of my upper arm!  I shooed him away, but he kept coming back.  Finally, I gave up and brought him downstairs to wear his training pad was, and put him down.  That’s exactly what he wanted!  I was so relieved that he is smart enough to wake me up to take him to the potty and he didn’t go in my bed!  Of course, this morning, Emma woke up to an empty bed, and she panicked.  She came into my room and woke me up–“mama, mama, MAMA!!  My puppy is GONE!”  Needless to say, she was very relieved to find him in my bed.

2 Comments »

  1. I think she loves having someone to take care of and boss around. That’s fine as long as she doesn’t pick him up by the neck.

    Comment by Daniel — January 14, 2010 @ 12:12 am

  2. well, today, she decided it was a good idea to try to lift him by his tail…

    Comment by onmywaytobeauty — January 14, 2010 @ 12:14 am


Leave a Reply

