Onmywaytobeauty's Blog

Impatience… | February 26, 2010

I don’t know about anyone else who may have gotten the Lap-Band or Realize Band or any other kind of gastric weight loss surgery, but I am so impatient!  It’s been 1 month tomorrow since my surgery, and as of today, I’ve only lost 21 pounds.  Sure, to those of you who can eat whatever you want, that seems like quite an accomplishment, but when you’re eating about 500 calories a day and working out 3-5 times a week, it’s nothing!  Not that I think a 21 pound weight loss is anything to stick my nose up at, but come ON!  Almost all of my food intake is protein, low calorie, low carb, low fat… the pounds and inches should be melting off of me, and they’re just… not. 

I’m also very impatient for my first fill!  I haven’t been to the doctor since my follow-up visit, less than a week after my surgery, and I’ve got questions, sure, but I’m so ready to get my first fill.  I’m hoping that it’ll jump-start my system again.  I should not be plateauing so soon!  My appointment is Tuesday morning, and I’m looking forward to what his scale says, and getting some questions answered.  I’ve been journalling everything I eat and my workout schedule, and I’m hoping he can point out to me some things I’m doing right and especially what I’m doing wrong.  I’m almost addicted to the gym, though.  Really looking forward to it!  Today’s my “last chance workout” before my actual weigh-in tomorrow morning.  Probably shouldn’t have gotten on the scale today, but I just couldn’t help myself.  I think the thing that bothers me the most about my small amount of weight loss is that the first 15 pounds came off in about a week.  That’s right.  A week.  But my clothes are fitting me differently, and people have told me that they can see a difference.  And the ones who know I got surgery are definately watching! 

So, I guess that’s it.  I just really needed to vent, and my poor readers are the ones who have to suffer it. Sorry!

2 Comments »

  1. “I’m so ready to get my first fill.”

    Whoa. slow down there. It’s not crack.

    Seriously though, You look great. I see a difference though you may not see it.

    Comment by Daniel — February 26, 2010 @ 4:03 pm

  2. Oh, Danny… how do you know it’s not crack? They stick a needle in me and “say” it’s going into the port to fill the band around my stomach, but how do I really know? And they “say” it’s saline, but can I really trust them? lol
    Thanks, I’m glad I look different to you, and I’ve had some other people tell me that they can see a difference, so that makes me feel better. It’s really the scale that makes me impatient. I’m looking forward to going tomorrow, though. Maybe the doc can give me some pointers on how to make things go faster. I doubt it, though. He seems conservative in his weight loss expectations… :p

    Comment by onmywaytobeauty — March 1, 2010 @ 10:51 am


Leave a Reply

